Taraba state government

Taraba state government

Taraba State was created on August 27th, 1991 when the Babangida Military Administration carved it out of the defunct Gongola State.

The State derives its name from one of the three major rivers and covers a land area of 59,400 square kilometres. At inception, the state comprised only ten Local Government Areas namely; Jalingo, Donga (created on 27th August 1991 Zing, Lau, Karim Lamido, Sardauna, Bali, Gashaka, Wukari and Takum.

The State currently has sixteen local government areas as a result of the creation of the following new LGAs; Ibi and Yorro in September 1991 and Ardo Kola, Kurmi, Ussa and Gassol in 1996.

There is also Yangtu, a Special Development area created by Danbaba administration in 2008 and NGADA Special Development Area which was created by Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku in September 2016.

The State derives its name from River Taraba and is made up of sixteen (16) Local Government Areas and two Special Development Areas. These areas constitute administrative units in three geopolitical zones with a total population of about four (4) million people.

Taraba state government official website: www.tarabastate.gov.ng